Tsilhqot'in Health Hub


The Tsilhqot'in Health Hub, established in 2010, is a conglomeration of the six Tsilhqot'in communities - ?Esdilagh First Nation (Alexandria), Tl'esqox (Toosey), Tl'etinqox (Anaham), Tsi Del Del (Redstone), Xeni Gwet'in (Nemiah Valley) and Yunesit'in (Stone). The Hub was established and resourced by the First Nation Health Authority (FNHA) to 'Communicate, Collaborate and Plan' taking an active role in reviewing and evaluating the Transformative Change Accord: First Nations Health Plan (2006) and the Tripartite First Nations Heath Plan (2007).

The Health Hub provides:

  • Improved Access to Services by creating efficiencies from the sharing of human capital, resources and services. The communities collaborate over their common issues developing solutions they action as a group vs. independantly.
  • Enhanced communication internally and externally through an established vehicle for the timely transmission of information. The ability to come together to discuss best practices and provide peer support for our remote communities helps us to share innovative approaches to health services.

In 2013 the ​First Nations Health Authority (FNHA) assumed programs and services that were handled previously by the Health Canada First Nation Inuit Health Branch - Pacific Region. The FNHA in collaboration with BC First Nations is responsible for planning, service delivery, management and funding of health programs.The FNHA does not replace the role or services of the Ministry of Health and Regional Health Authorities but it was established to collaborate, coordinate, and integrate First Nation respective health programs and services in the attempt to achieve improved health outcomes for BC First Nations.

The Tsilhqot'in Health Hub within the BC First Nations Governance Structure

The First Nations Health Council (FNHC) is represented by five Health Regions. The FNHC provides governance over the implementation of the Tripartite commitments and supports the health priorities stipulated by BC First Nations.

The FNHA involves the BC First Nations through regional caucuses of the five Health Regions. These Regional Caucuses enable representatives to provide input and direction into the development of programs and activities and support First Nations to advance the implementation of agreements with the Regional Health Authority.

The Tsilhqot'in are a part of the Interior Region, consisting of 54 First Nations and 7 Nations ( Dãkelh Dené, Ktunaxa, Nlaka'pamux, Secwepemc, St'át'imc, Syilx, and Tsilhqot'in). The Interior Region has three caucus representatives ( Allan Louis (Okanagan Indian Band), Gwen Phillips (Ktunaxa) and Charlene Belleau (Esketemc).

Governance Model


As part of the Interior governance structure the 7 Nations developed an 'Interior Regional Nation Executive,' which is comprised of one representative from each of the 7 Nations of the Interior Region. The table acts as an Executive body to the Interior Region Caucus, carrying out directions in between Caucus sessions. The Tsilhqot'in Interior Region Nation Executive is Loretta Williams.

The Health Directors and Technical leads are engaged in planning and priority setting through the Interior Regional Nation Technical Table. The Tsilhqot'in representative is Connie Jasper.

Heath Directors are further represented through the First Nations Directors Association (FNHDA) which is a technical advisory body ot the FNHC and FNHA on research, policy, program planning, and the implementation of the Health Plans.

The Partnership Accord Leadership Table is represented by Loretta Williams and The Interior First Nations Health & Wellness Advisory Committee representative is Connie Jasper. Furthermore, the Tsilhqot'in work to develop a Nation Health Plan which is utilized to negotiate the Letter of Understanding and other agreements. The committee that oversees the execution of the Letter of Understanding is made of the Health Hub Director and each of the Tsilhqot'in Health Directors.